Transport Awards 2024

Published on 15th November 2023 at 11:42

Sligo Haulage & Distribution Ltd., received a rapturous applause and standing ovation on 
being announced as the 2024 Fleet Transport Irish Haulier of the Year winner at the 
Johnstown Estate Hotel, Enfield, County Meath on Thursday 9 November. The Tubbercurry, County Sligo based family business had due cause to rejoice having won 
the Regional Transport Operator category and fittingly marks the company’s 25th 
Now in its 17th year, the Irish Haulier of the Year Awards programme honours best 
practice in the road transport industry, highlighting SMEs and large fleet operators that go 
the extra mile in terms of customer service, efficiency and care for the environment. 
Zellwood (Dublin), overall winners of the Haulier title last year, continues its successful 
trail with the National accolade secured for 2024, while another former winner Hendrick 
European (Dublin) scooped the International/National Refrigerated Transport Specialist 
trophy. Dixon International Transport (Dublin) received the Environment & Sustainability 
Award. Uisce Éireann was elected for operating the Best Van Fleet with Byrne Logistics 
(Cork) chosen to have the Best Livery and corporate identity. Sweeney Oil (Galway) were 
awarded Own Account Transport Operator of the Year with McCulla Ireland receiving 
Safety Practice Award. 
New entrants Digicom (Armagh) impressed the judging interview panel for the Best 
Innovation, while Smith Vehicle Solutions (Dublin) delivers superior Customer Service 
In the individual award categories, Thomas Heffernan (Irish Rail) was voted as 
Fleet/Transport Manager of the Year 2024, Jodie Prendergast (Kennedy International 
Transport, Dublin) - Women in Transport winner and Liam Phelan (JS Ryan Freight, 
Laois), awarded Technician of the Year. 
The proceedings began with compère Shay Byrne (RTE Radio 1 Rising Time) reading the 
narration to pay special tribute to Moffett Engineering, Monaghan, creators of the Moffett 
Mounty Truck Mounted Forklift, as invention from 1989 that continues to be successfully 
sold around the globe. 

In congratulating the award winners and complimenting the finalists, Jarlath Sweeney, 
Group Editor, Fleet Transport, on behalf of the organisers said that “we are very pleased 
with the high standard of entries and highly professional presentations made at the 
interviews. Congratulations and best wishes to the winners and well done to all the 
finalists.” He thanked the various award sponsors and the hotel for their excellent facilities 
and hospitality. 
The full list of Fleet Transport Award 2024 winners are as follows: 
Irish Haulier of the Year 2024 - Sponsored by Rosslare Europort 
Sligo Haulage & Distribution Ltd. (Sligo) 

National Haulier of the Year 2024 - Sponsored by Volvo Trucks 
Zellwood (Dublin) 

Refrigerated Transport Specialist (International/National) Operator of the 
Year 2024 – Sponsored by Thermo King 
Hendrick European (Dublin) 

Own Account Transport Operator of the Year 2024 – Sponsored by Mercedes- 
Benz Commercial Vehicles 
Sweeney Oil (Galway) 

Owner Driver Haulier of the Year 2024 – Sponsored by MAN Truck & Bus 
A Transport Ltd (Kildare) 

Regional Transport Operator of the Year 2024 – Sponsored by FUSO 
Sligo Haulage & Distribution (Sligo)